Entries in Baseball (180)

April 20, 2018 - SAFE Baseball and Softball

No pithy headline for this one, simply because this is a product we feel so strongly about. The SAFE Baseball - Softball online safety course is a must for all baseball and softball youth leagues and travel teams. 

Most youth leagues do some sort of safety clinic. In many cases there is cursory discussion about helmets and bats, then first-aid kids are handed out and they're done. Some may do some concussion training with the recent, heightened awareness.

The SAFE Baseball course is better than any clinic a league can put on for three major reasons. One, because they combed through countless hours of video, the course contains numerous actual examples of dangerous situations, close calls, and actual occurence of injury which paint the most vivid picture possible for the average coach.

Two, unlike a clinic, usually held on aluminum bleachers in baking sun or freezing cold, students will actually enjoy this learning environment. They can take the course at their leisure, a few minutes here a few minutes there, watching interesting videos and gaining a new perspective from the course instructor. And, finally, because each section culminates with a brief quiz, students will have to grasp the material and not be able to tune it out while waiting for it to end.

Each year, thousands of young boys and girls wake up excited to put on their uniform and go to the park and play ball with their friends, only to experience painful and sometimes serious injuries. And while some of these injuries cannot be avoided, many could be if coaches and other adults were properly trained. The SAFE Baseball course ensures that everyone who takes it will be thinking safety first from the moment they arrive on the field. When it comes to keeping baseball and softball players safe, SAFE Baseball- Softball has all the bases covered. 

Source: SAFE Baseball - Softball

February 27, 2018 - Hitting Home

Those of you who have been reading us for years know we have a soft spot for JUGS Sports and the many great products they produce. Here is one I wish they had 15 years ago when my sons were in their Little League days. 

JUGS' Hit at Home batting cages are Nirvana for any aspiring baseball player and baseball parent. My kids were lucky in that we usually had access somewhere to a field or batting cage and I was usually able to find the time to throw to them. And I enjoyed doing it. But even so, had this thing been in our backyard all my boys would have gotten thousands more swings on their own. And how knows what that might have meant to their careers. 

The Hit at Home comes with everything you need to set up immediately, poles, clasps and netting all included. It sets up in under an hour and can be taken down whenever you'd like so there is no permanent construction required. Those of you who don't already know this will be happy to hear that JUGS nets are the industry standard. No one makes them better. You can order the cage alone for soft-toss and tee work, or make it a package with a state-of-the-art JUGS pitching machine and L-screen. 

JUGS continues to be the industry leader in everything baseball and softball. If you want your players to have all the advantages, to give them the head start they deserve, their own batting cage in the backyard is a privilege you can now afford.

Source: JUGS Sports

 

Posted on Tuesday, February 27, 2018 at 09:43AM by Registered CommenterSports Product Review in , , , , | CommentsPost a Comment | EmailEmail

January 19, 2018 - Feed Me!

One of the hardest things for a player who wants to hit, is to find a partner to throw to him. My boys are fortunate that I am always (almost always) willing to pitch to them and we have a local high school cage we can use whenever we want. But what about the vast majority of others not so lucky? 

You might say, "get them a pitching machine" and we've already written several times that JUGS makes the best. But you still need that other person to feed balls into the machine. So while that expands the spectrum of who can help (i.e. they don't have to be another player), it still entails getting someone else to come along. 

Or does it? Because JUGS thought of that too. Their 18-ball feeder (14-ball feeder for softball) means you can go take BP and no one else even needs to know about it. The feeder is simple to operate, lightweight and will feed you a ball every six seconds. 

But don't you still need someone there to load the feeder and start it? Not with JUGS' In-Line On/Off Feeder Remote which allows you to start and stop it with a step of a pedal. Now you truly are autonomous. 

JUGS makes products that get players better, plain and simple. The more innovation they bring, the fewer excuses there are for the rest of us.

Source: JUGS Sports

Posted on Friday, January 19, 2018 at 11:04AM by Registered CommenterSports Product Review in , , , | CommentsPost a Comment | EmailEmail

December 29, 2017 - Best of the Best From 2017

The judges have spoken! Of the dozens of great products we reviewed over the course of 2017, these five are the ones that stood the tallest! Congratulations to, in no particular order: TeamBattingGloves.com, TeamFootballGloves.com, PowerOE, Bison and The Pitcher's Mate. All of these companies provide superior products and tremendous customer service which is one of the reasons we stand behind them 100%

More exciting products and services are in the queue for 2018, which will mark our tenth year bringing you the latest and greatest in the sporting goods world. So keep checking back! In the meantime, have a safe and extremely Happy New Year from us at Sports Product Review!

Source: Sports Product Review

October 6, 2017 - What's in the Cards?

You'll find out soon enough if you order a CoachDeck. Their handy, deck-of-card set of 52 color-coded drills come in five different sports: Baseball, basketball, soccer, softball and football and are perfect for volunteer coaches who either lack experience or time to prepare to run great practices. Below is some of the feedback from their Amazon reviews:

Excellent product. I have used many of the drills with my 9-10yo with great results. 

Great cards, very useful 

Started using these for my u8 soccer team on wensday and I love them. 

Great items, able to pull some cards our and keep in pocket throughout practice to reference if needed. 

This really helped with having new drills to keep the kids engaged. They really like when I let them pick from the deck. They feel like they are coaching themselves. 

I have played basketball my entire life but I am only on my second year coaching for my son and daughter's basketball team and these cards are very useful. Great ideas on drills to run to improve overall skills while keeping it fun. 

I use these cards all the time to come up with different drills for practices for both of my co-ed recreational soccer teams. They love the varying practices. 

Great holiday gift for my co-coach. He enjoyed using it to help arrange our practices. 

A perfect practice is in the cards with CoachDeck!

Source: CoachDeck

Page | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next 5 Entries