Entries in General (147)

January 7, 2015 - Start the New Year Off On the Right Foot

For many of us, getting into shape is a common New Year's resolution. But isn't it funny how when we go to work out, we walk into the gym on our feet, but then end up exercising nearly every part of our bodies except them? Why wouldn't we also be just as concerned with the proper care and maintenance of our calves, ankles, toes and feet when we know that if they aren't working properly, none of the rest really matters?

 

There are ways to stretch and strengthen the lower extremities, but nothing is as all-encompassing, easy to use and plain inviting as the Foot Gym. It combines six stretches along with a heated or chilled massage feature, to allow you to speed up your recovery from injury or surgery, or help prevent either from happening in the first place.

 

Combining an angled foot pad with resistance band tubing, one can employ the device for toe curls and toe extensions, dorsiflexion stretches, Plantar Fascia stretch and effective calf stretches. Or, fill the removable roller ball with either cold or hot water and pamper yourself with a luxurious foot massage.

 

My soccer-playing daughter uses it to stretch her calves and improve her ankle strength, which has always been an issue. I recommend simply putting it under your desk at work, kicking off your shoes and letting your feet do their thing on it throughout the day. You'll be amazed at how much better your feet, toes and ankles feel in a short period of time because they've been “working out,” and getting massaged instead of just sitting there.

 

Whether you've had foot injuries or just want to prevent them, or even if you like the idea of rewarding your hard-working tooties with a roll over a massage ball while you work, you won't go wrong with this innovative product. For the New Year, it's time you let those feet have their own gym membership. Because if you take care of them, they're going to take care of you.

 

Source: Foot Gym

Posted on Wednesday, January 7, 2015 at 12:47PM by Registered CommenterSports Product Review in , , | CommentsPost a Comment | References3 References | EmailEmail

December 30, 2014 - Sports Product Review 2014 Products of the Year

Another great year at SPR is coming to a close and the votes are in! We've sifted through the many great products we've reviewed throughout 2014 and have chosen our five favorites. The are, (in no particular order) Bangerz Floats sunglasses, Mogo Flavored Mouthguards, Pro Ice Ankle, Three Piece Tee and Tanner Tee.

Thank you to all of the fantastic companies that allowed us to try out and review their products and, of course, big thanks to all of our loyal readers. Keep the product submissions coming, and have a safe, happy and prosperous 2015!

Source: Sports Product Review

December 23, 2014 - Who will it be this year?

Our annual picks for our favorite product of 2014 will be released next week. We have reviewed more great products this year than in any year in recent memory so the "chosen ones" promise to be absolute winners! Follow us on Facebook and you'll never miss a review, including next week's bests!

Source: Sports Product Review

Posted on Tuesday, December 23, 2014 at 02:51PM by Registered CommenterSports Product Review in , | CommentsPost a Comment | References8 References | EmailEmail

December 19, 2014 - FIR Real

We were approached by the folks at Synergy who asked if we'd like to try out their line of therapeutic braces and supports. We said yes, but also secretly wondered if there would be any new angle we could provide. Isn't one brace just like another? Fortunately for us, Synergy took care of the angle for us with their FIR-Inside technology.

 

For those of us who don't know what FIR means, here is some information from the Synergy website: Far Infrared Rays (FIR) are natural waves of light energy produced by the sun, totally invisible to the naked eye. Infrared light generates the warmth we feel on bright, sunny days.

 

FIR light energy activates the water molecules in the blood increasing the blood flow and oxygen in the bloodstream. As the far infrared light energy is absorbed, the body’s cellular metabolism improves resulting in enhanced cell regeneration and tissue repair.

 

Far Infrared Therapy may be safely used by almost anyone suffering pain from injury or disease. FIR Therapy has been found to help athletes recover from injury and provide relief to individuals with diabetes and other common circulatory problems such as Arthritis and Raynauds Syndrome.

 

Their therapeutic braces and supports are made with an activated bamboo charcoal with far infrared rays woven directly into the fabric. Synergy’s technology allows far infrared rays to penetrate deeper into the tissue, reducing swelling and pain while accelerating healing.

 

Synergy claims that their braces and supports improve blood circulation, alleviates pain, reduce swelling and increases mobility. And their fabrics combine bamboo fiber and Poliyou material to prevent bacteria from growing. This results in anti-microbial, moisture-wicking, neoprene-free braces and supports that keep you dry and odor-free.

 

My son, who is a baseball player, began throwing again for the first time this off-season. The same day he went to the gym and banged his elbow on a weight machine. He came home complaining of a little arm soreness, which is never what you want in your throwing arm. I asked him to try the adjustable elbow brace. He's usually not eager to try new things like this out but he put in on in the evening and even slept with it secured to his elbow. The next day I asked him how the elbow felt. He was more than pleasantly surprised that there was no more pain, just a little stiffness from being in the brace for twelve hours. I guarantee you that if he ever has elbow pain again, he'll put this thing back on in a heartbeat, and for him, they guy who rarely thinks anything new works, that's saying something.

 

Synergy makes a whole line of braces and supports that are worth checking out. If you're skeptical about the FIR technology, take a look at their website and look at the research that's been done on the topic. Even without FIR the braces are high quality and can prevent or provide relief to injuries. And if the far infrared therapy does work as my son suspects it does? Then that's the real deal.

 

FIR Real

Posted on Friday, December 19, 2014 at 02:52PM by Registered CommenterSports Product Review in , | CommentsPost a Comment | EmailEmail

December 4, 2014 - Free To Move About

One of the most exciting aspects of doing what we do is when we encounter products that are the result of someone looking at an ages-old device or contraption and wondering if there is a way to do it better. Sometimes changes are made due to advancements in technology. Other times, a minor tweak or two leads us to say, “Why didn't I think of that?” And once in a great while we see something that is so revolutionary and so different that we know we'd have never thought of it. In a million years.

Take crutches, for instance. Crutches have been handed out by doctors for injured femurs, knees, ankles and feet for generations and they've remained virtually unchanged. Most people would assume that must mean nothing better can be created. Someone else looked at them and said, “What if we did this instead?” That someone would be the folks at Forward Mobility who designed the incredible Freedom Leg. The Freedom Leg takes those oldest of medical devices people have been hobbling around on for decades, and makes them virtually obsolete.

They sent us one to try out. Everyone, whether they've had a real need or not, has at least tried out a pair of crutches at one time or another. We all know how quickly the arms and underarms get tired and sore, and that the necessity of keeping the leg up off the ground is a nuisance. Not only are you down a leg, but both hands as well. It is nearly impossible to carry anything or walk up stairs using the handrail. Essentially, if you have an injury or surgery that requires no weight to be put on your leg or foot for weeks or months, you've been sentenced to a protracted period of non-mobility and discomfort. That is, unless your doctor knows about the Freedom Leg.

We strapped it on and will admit it took some getting used to, just like crutches do. But within minutes it was obvious why this is going to take the medical and sports injury world by storm. We went up and down stairs, moved around on carpet, wood and tile floors and got pretty nimble in no time. You'll feel safer, knowing that hands-free means if you were to stumble, you'd be more likely to catch yourself. Plus because the leg is suspended in place there would be no risk of you landing on it and re-damaging the injury.

The bend in the brace and knee naturally lifts the foot, allowing you to walk with it above the ground while both hips remain level. Advanced composite beams transfer the weight from the thigh to the ground ensuring there is zero weight on the leg from the knee down. The foam shin pad ensures the foot cannot move forward of the brace and touch the ground. It is compatible with a cast or boot. With your hands free you can accomplish all your normal day-to-day tasks without assistance, including walking up and down stairs. Maybe most importantly,you still use your upper leg muscles on the injured leg to walk. This will reduce the atrophy normally associated with extended periods of off-loading which can, in turn, significantly reduce your rehabilitation time. This is especially important to athletes. It is the perfect solution both before and after surgery, and because it is lightweight and durable, (only weighs 3 lbs.) you don't feel like Frankenstein going from place to place.

The Freedom Leg is not inexpensive, but most insurances will cover it. And even if not, wouldn't you  pay a couple bucks a day to be able to move around at will instead of being non-ambulatory? After all, you can't put a price on freedom.

Source: Forward Mobility

Posted on Thursday, December 4, 2014 at 06:00PM by Registered CommenterSports Product Review in , , | CommentsPost a Comment | References1 Reference | EmailEmail