February 10, 2017 - Swag For the Fences

Want to increase your bat speed? Who doesn't? The trick is finding the right tool to do the job. Training bats from LeftySwag might just be the answer you were looking for. They sent some to us to try out and we love them.

LeftySwag Bats are guaranteed to increase your bat speed using the mechanics of building muscles with underload and overload weighted bats. Underload training focuses on fast twitch muscles, which will increase hand speed. This means you will be quicker to the ball. Overload training is designed to improve your strength and bat control. Their bat speed training program is guaranteed to increase batting average and power, and it only takes 10 minutes a day!

You can customize their training bats by simply choosing the colors, and adding your name and number to the knob. You can even customize the weight of your training bat. And, they are compact and easy to store, taking up very little room in a bat bag or duffle.

They offer a free training regimen on their website that gives the player a step-by-step guide to using the bats and improving that speed. We also liked that the lightweight, aluminum bats can be swung virtually anywhere? Stuck indoors because it's February and snowing? Get in front of a mirror or even just the TV and still get your hacks in safely, turning your family room into a winter training facility. Because spring is just around the corner and you know that when you're not training, somebody else is. 

Source: LeftySwag

January 21, 2017 - Hit Your Spots

This is for all parents of pitchers, as well as high school and college baseball coaches. The Pitcher's Mate is the next accessory you need to buy for the upcoming season.

Before you dismiss it as a gimmick, understand that Major League Baseball pitchers train with the Pitcher's Mate. It provides realistic practice without a batter. Because of it's heavy-duty, tear resistant construction it can be used indoors and outdoors and will last for years, even facing 90+ MPH fastballs.

It features a life-size reversible batter and a four zone strike target that lets the balls pass through and collect on the other side. The latest design has a photo realistic depiction of the batter which can quickly and easily be peeled off from one side, reversed, and adhered to the other side of the plate so pitchers get to face lefties and righties. If the pitch hits the middle of the zone the ball is not caught, but will just fall out front so you have to pick it up. Serves you right for serving up a meatball.

The list of colleges, universities and high schools that use the Pitcher's Mate is impressive. And that means it should be in every aspiring hurler's backyard. Whether it be a youth leaguer or a player at a higher lever, it's not always easy to get someone to crouch down and catch for you. Now there are no excuses for not getting in a bullpen.

Source: Pitcher's Mate

Posted on Saturday, January 21, 2017 at 10:47AM by Registered CommenterSports Product Review in , , | CommentsPost a Comment | References6 References | EmailEmail

January 14, 2017 - Into a Corner

One of our specialties at Sports Product Review is training aids. We love devices that help young athletes improve their games and our favorites are those that are the most simple. 

The folks at Bison Sports would probably agree that training aids are not their bread and butter. They make things like soccer goals, football goal posts, basketball stanchions and much more. They are who you want to turn to as an athletic director, field superintendent, youth sports director and club president. But when they dabble in training aids, they hit a home run....or more appropriately, scored a goal.

The ScoreMore Corner Kick system is a set of four bright orange targets that easiily velcro onto the existing goals and are designed to be placed at the upper and lower corners where most goals are scored. If you watch youth and even advanced player practice shooting, they often send their shots straight to the center of the net. Fine when there is no goalie. But a wasted shot in a real game. The ScoreMore targets teach the brain to always aim for those spots where no goalie can defend and, in this way, help develop muscle memory in the best way. 

Bison Sports is a tremendous resource for large items that will improve your facility. But they when it comes to a small device that can lead to some big shots, they are right on target.

Source: Bison Sports

Posted on Saturday, January 14, 2017 at 11:06AM by Registered CommenterSports Product Review in , , , | CommentsPost a Comment | References2 References | EmailEmail

January 8, 2017 - Ten Years Down

Its an age-old question: "Where does the time go?" And its one we're asking ourselves as we look back and realize we're beginning our eleventh year writing reviews of new and exciting sports products from around the globe. We've made a lot of friends and had a ton of fun along they way, discovering items we'd have never known existed and, hopefully, bringing attention to some terrific up-and-coming enterprises. Many companies we reviewed were newly-launched, with only one employee, and are now on their way to becoming million dollar businesses. 

We're excited to go into 2017 ready to uncover more "hidden gems" in the sports world. As we look ahead with optimism, we take a moment to reflect, maybe a little wisfully, about our humble beginnings and those innocent first few months when we began. Thank you for all your support. We hope you've enjoyed our write-ups and will continue to do as we forge ahead.

Source: Sports Product Review

Posted on Sunday, January 8, 2017 at 10:54AM by Registered CommenterSports Product Review in , | CommentsPost a Comment | References3 References | EmailEmail

December 30, 2016 - 2016 Sports Products of the Year

We're excited to bring you another year...in review! Pun intended. This year we went around the world to find more new and innovative products that solved needs and made athletes better. And while all the products we reviewed were top-notch, these five stood out enough to be included in our 2016 Sports Product Review Products of the Year. In no particular order, congratulaltions to AMO, (Advanced Multi-sport Optics) Sunglasses (Read our review here), JUGS Sports newest tee, (Read the review), The Bench Coach (Read the review), Xeros Gear, (Review), and The Strike Plate (Review).

Each of these products "wowwed" us with their innovation, creativity and quality. And all of them have bright futures. 

As we approach our tenth year of doing reviews, we look back and realize we've come a long way. And so has the sporting goods industry. The way products are made, the way they are marketed and the way they are purchased is radically different from back when we did our first review. But one thing will never change, and that is the spirit of the sports-minded entrepreneur who sees solutions to problems, ways to improve old processes, and exhibits the creativity and drive to bring ideas to life. We're proud of the decade we've spent showcases these up-and-coming companies and hope you've enjoyed reading about them. 

Now...to 2017 and the next decade. Happy New Year!

Source: Sports Product Review

http://www.sportsproductreview.com/review/2016/7/15/july-15-2016-up-and-running.html